Get Your Interior Design License

Get ready to start your interior designer career—but see if you need licensure.

Becoming a Licensed Interior Designer

As you begin working as an interior designer, all of the education, job experience and testing leads up to one last hurdle: licensure. Several U.S. states and jurisdictions (including Puerto Rico) and seven Canadian provinces currently have laws on the books that require an interior design license for professional designers.

Each governing body has a unique set of criteria an interior designer must meet in order to practice. It is important to understand the interior design license requirements early in the process, so that there will be no surprises when you apply for licensure. The following states have interior designer licensing requirements:

U.S. States with Interior Designer Licensure Requirements

Alabama Illinois Michigan New York
Arkansas Indiana Minnesota Oklahoma
California Iowa Mississippi Tennessee
Colorado Kentucky Missouri Texas
Connecticut Louisiana Nevada Virginia
Florida Maine New Jersey Washington, DC
Georgia Maryland New Mexico Wisconsin

In addition,four states have interior design licensure bills introduced. These include Washington, Oregon, Massachusetts and South Carolina.

Canadian Provinces with Interior Designer Licensure Requirements

Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Saskatchewan.